Putting Winter to Rest

7 Mar

KF-IMG-2013.Mar.06--4
the view from our driveway  

Our first winter in Kentucky has been such a pleasure. It’s been a mild winter, even for Kentucky, but when it snows more than it has all winter during the first few days of March and I hardly mind at all, I know we must have had it pretty easy. I walked around our property yesterday to see how it looked with an actual accumulation, and my boots made unfamiliar crunching sounds in the snow.

KF-IMG-2013.Mar.06-
the view from my kitchen window

KF-IMG-2013.Mar.06--3

I stopped by our barn to check in on the skittish, feral cats that came with the place. It’s charming to find them curled up in the hay, and they’re truly the most low maintenance outdoor pet a farm could have. That being said, we’re still figuring out how to feed our cats and ours alone, and not every stray cat in the country who shows up at dinner time. I keep reminding myself how happy I’ll be to have the cats around for killing mice, instead of snakes. You can stay, cat.

KF-IMG-2013.Mar.06--2

It could be the excitement of living in a new part of the country, the many projects we have in the works, or my baby-growing preoccupation, but I truly don’t mind this last bit of winter we’ve been having. I know we are promised warm days shortly, and daydreaming about snuggling our baby on our front porch hammock keeps me going till then.

37 weeks
a 37 week belly, for friends and family up north. 

2 Responses to “Putting Winter to Rest”

  1. Terri Eagle March 8, 2013 at 1:25 am #

    You have more snow than we do! I love seeing your “happy” home, even your feral cats. Great pictures. You looks sooo cute .

  2. alison March 8, 2013 at 1:44 am #

    you look so cute!

Leave a Reply

